2016 Road Race Champions Crowned
Friday, 23 September, 2016

Phoenix Park

Sile Carroll and Peter Arthur Win Club Road Championships

Previous editions of the Myles Cullen and George Harrison Trophy races encountered wet and windy conditions but Sundays (18/09/16) weather was ideal with virtually no breeze and only some short misty showers .

Peter Arthur’s winning time of 32.21 was a course record and 1m47s faster than his winning time last year. Peter had Damien Cauvet for company in the early stages but by halfway reached in 16m08 he had begun to open a gap and looks like on the basis of this performance he will be able to translate his excellent track racing to the upcoming cross country season. Damien also ran faster than ever before taking the silver medal and had the added bonus of winning the Myles Cullen Trophy awarded on the basis of a sealed handicap.

Arnoud Benjacar took the bronze medal.

Sile Carroll is another athlete coming off a fine track season and she had a marginal personal best for the distance as she added the road championship to the other club titles in cross country and track she won earlier in the year.

Aileen Gittens also ran a fine race to take the silver medal with Eimear Nic An Bhaird also displaying some good early season form to finish third. Sile had quite a successful day as she won the George Harrison Trophy awarded on the basis of a sealed handicap.

The full results are available at:

Go Back